Boost your PostgreSQL® skills: Beginner's guide to SQL optimization.

In this online workshop you'll learn the basics of query optimization in PostgreSQL®. From understanding the path of the query to optimizing your indexes and joins, we’ll cover the foundation, tools and techniques to improve the performance of your SQL queries.

This workshop is one hour long. Open to beginner levels, though the knowledge of SQL basics is desired.

Dates:

  • Wednesday June 26, 2024
    • 9am PDT | 12noon EDT | 6pm CEST
  • Wednesday July 10, 2024
    • 12noon CEST | 3:30pm IST | 7pm JST | 8pm AEST
Secure your spot
Loading...

What's in the Workshop Recipe?


SQL optimization is essential for efficient database management, especially when dealing with complex queries and large datasets. In this workshop, you'll familiarize with the fundamentals of SQL optimization with a focus on PostgreSQL®. This hands-on session will guide you through key techniques and best practices to enhance the performance of your SQL queries.

We'll look at how PostgreSQL processes queries, helping you spot any bottlenecks and areas that need improvement. You'll learn how to use indexes effectively to speed up your queries without overdoing it. We'll also explore the best ways to use joins in your queries, when to use them for the best performance.

We'll discuss how PostgreSQL handles data changes, what table bloat is, and why regular vacuuming is crucial for keeping your database in good shape. Plus, we’ll show the usage of AI tools to identify and troubleshoot common query performance issues using practical examples.

You'll get plenty of hands-on experience. It's going to be a fun and informative session, so don't miss out!

What You'll Learn

In this workshop, we’ll cover the following topics:

  • Understanding the query execution flow and path of the query.
  • Using tools such as ANALYSE and EXPLAIN
  • Efficient usage of indexing
  • To join or not to join that is the question
  • Spotting query issues
  • Reason behind the table bloat and why we need to vacuum the data
  • Applying UI Tools

Prerequisites

  • A web browser.
  • An Aiven account, using our free trial. We will lead you through setting that up in the workshop, if you don’t already have one.
  • A GitHub account. Here’s the GitHub repository we’ll be using.
  • We’ll use GitHub Codespaces as our working environment.

Workshop host

For June 26, 2024

Olena Kutsenko portrait
Olena Kutsenko

Senior Developer Advocate, Aiven

Olena is a seasoned expert in data, sustainable software development, and teamwork. With a background in software engineering, she's led teams and developed mission-critical applications at Nokia, HERE Technologies, and AWS. Currently, she works at Aiven where she supports developers and customers in using open-source data technologies such as Apache Kafka, ClickHouse, and OpenSearch. She is also an international public speaker and regularly presents at conferences around the world. She holds AWS Developer and Solutions Architect certifications, and is also a Confluent Catalyst.

Boost your tech skills with our developer workshops

Live and interactive sessions to upgrade your skills with expert guidance covering a range of open source technologies.

Explore all workshops

Related resources