Aiven Community Spotlight: An Interview with Arjun Singh

We’re starting a new thing around here called a Community Spotlight. This is where we highlight members from around Aiven’s community who are doing cool/interesting things, to get to know them a little bit better!

Our very first spotlight is on Arjun Singh, a full stack developer and open source enthusiast from Delhi, India :india:! We met Arjun through his participation with Klaw (Aiven’s self-service Apache Kafka® Topic Management/Governance tool/portal) during Hacktoberfest last year.

Here’s what he had to say! (Note that this conversation has been edited and condensed for clarity.)

Welcome, Arjun! It’s a pleasure to have you. To kick things off, could you share where you’re from and your background?

Thank you! I’m from Delhi, India. I completed my bachelor’s in computer science from Delhi University and am currently pursuing law, though I plan to return to computer science.

That’s an interesting pivot. What drew you to law before deciding to return to computer science?

My mother is a lawyer, which initially piqued my interest. However, my ultimate goal is to work in computer science, particularly in development.

I’ve noticed your active social media presence and your involvement in tech communities. Can you tell us more about your interests and activities there?

Absolutely. I leverage my influence in tech communities for networking, which I believe enhances my job prospects. I’m deeply involved in open source projects; it started with addressing beginner issues and grew from there. Open source has been a significant learning opportunity, teaching me about software development’s complexities and the importance of networking.

I see a lot of people get into open source for the sake of it, or to get something transactional out of it, but I feel it’s important to go in for the purpose of learning, and encourage others to really immerse themselves in the projects they’re part of.