Skip to main content

Delete your AWS custom cloud in Aiven

Delete a custom cloud so that it's no longer available in your Aiven organizations, units, or projects.

important

Custom cloud configuration in Aiven is an early availability feature. You cover the costs associated with building and maintaining your custom cloud payments for your integrated AWS infrastructure and Aiven services within the custom cloud.

About deleting custom clouds

After deleting a custom cloud, the data co-hosted in this cloud will no longer be available from the Aiven platform. Before deleting your custom cloud, make sure there are no active services using this cloud.

Impact on your Aiven resources

The deletion impacts mostly resources on the Aiven site, such as cloud configuration files.

Impact on your AWS account resources

A bastion service and the corresponding EC2 instance are deleted as a consequence of your custom cloud's removal. As for resources created when applying the Terraform template to create the custom cloud, they are not removed after deleting your custom cloud. Unless you've removed them earlier, you're advised to do that if deleting your cloud.

Prerequisites

  • Administrator's role for your Aiven organization
  • At least one custom cloud created in your Aiven organization
  • No running services that uses a custom cloud to be deleted
  • Access to Aiven Console

Delete your cloud

  1. Log in to Aiven Console as an administrator.
  2. Select the organization you want to use from the dropdown menu in the top right corner.
  3. From the top navigation bar, select Admin.
  4. From the left sidebar, select Bring your own cloud.
  5. In the Bring your own cloud view, select one of the clouds available on the list.
  6. In the selected cloud's page, use the ellipsis (...) menu in the top right corner to select Delete.
  7. Make sure you understand the impact and, if so, confirm that you want to delete the cloud by selecting Delete in the Warning window.

Your custom cloud has been deleted.

important

Remember to remove the resources created in your AWS account when applying the Terraform template to create the custom cloud. They are not removed automatically after deleting the cloud. Unless you've removed them earlier, use the terraform destroy command to delete them. See the guidelines on how to use the destroy command in Command: destroy.

Check it out

To ensure a cloud was successfully deleted:

  1. Log in to Aiven Console as an administrator.
  2. Select the organization you want to use from the dropdown menu in the top right corner.
  3. From the top navigation bar, select Admin.
  4. From the left sidebar, select Bring your own cloud.
  5. In the Bring your own cloud view, see the list of the available clouds to make sure the cloud you intended to delete is actually gone.